Project Presentations

activities
13 November
10:30 - 12:00
Fairmont Le Reine Elizabeth — Duluth
The Project Presentations is an activity that allows artistic companies selected by a jury to share information about a new project with the artists, agents and presenters taking part in the CINARS Biennale. The selected companies are currently looking for partners to develop a new work, a new production or an artistic or financial partnership.

Project organized in partnership with DAM (Diversité artistique Montréal) and ELAN (English-Language Arts Network).
Participants
Anand Bhatt Aakash Odedra Company
Aakash Odedra(UK/India) and Shenyuan Hu (China) are virtuoso dancers in their native classical languages. They find common ground between their heritage and contemporary expression. These neighbouring ancient civilisations have exchanged culture for centuries. The Himalayas create the highest natural border and yet the teachings of Buddha found a way through.
Alexandre Hamel Le Patin Libre
Le Patin Libre was founded by international level figure skaters who wanted to free themselves from « On Ice » stereotypes. Inspired by flock of birds, they're working on their first piece for a large ensemble with 15 virtuosic skaters dedicated to the continuation of this contemporary revolution of skating.
Claire Costa Plexus Polaire / Yngvild Aspeli
The sea connects us, it lies between the continents and somehow draws invisible lines between the different corners of the world. Facing this moody creature, we are all the same. Endlessly small. Moby Dick is the tale of a whaling expedition, but also the story of an obsession, and an investigation into the meaning of life.
Mélanie Demers MAYDAY
After Animal Triste (2016), which explored the story of humanity, writ small, Mélanie Demers’ new creation brings the focus to bear on the future of our species, attempting to imagine a micro-society where humans are impelled to measure themselves against their destiny. MAYDAY presents a dystopic world where the vain ballets of humanity are transformed into a work of anticipation.
Lawrence Cherney Soundstreams Canada
The Journey is a landmark project. Two one-act operas rooted in Indigenous mythology: Pimooteewin, a Cree-language opera from the Canadian prairies; Gállábártnit, a Sami-language opera inspired by far northern Nordic legends. The operas are cross-cultural collaborations among Indigenous and non-Indigenous artists, with participation from companies from Canada, Sweden, and Norway.
Heloise Bourgeois Cirque Entre Nous
Héloïse Bourgeois, after 10 years of touring with "Les 7 doigts", won the Festival de Demain in 2012 with her Chinese pole duo. A year ago, she founded the collective “Between us” and continues her research by pushing the acrobatic language on the border of dance and theater.
Esteban Fourmi AE Dance Company
REBOOT, AE’s second work, is an exploration of human sensations and how they connect us human beings. Looking at the notion of transhumanism, we reimagine our future and cycles of life. It is presented in two interlinked parts as separate events – a full-length evening performance and a family-friendly participatory performance installation.
Peggy Baker Peggy Baker Dance Projects
Choreographed by acclaimed Canadian dance artist Peggy Baker, who we are in the dark offers the immediacy of daring contemporary dance; supercharged live music; and sophisticated design elements from artists working with pigment, projection, and light. Jeremy Gara and Sarah Neufeld, both members of Grammy and Juno award-winning rock band Arcade Fire, are joined on stage by seven extraordinary dancers in a work that explores and illuminates shifting identities, betrayals, secrets, and intimacies played out in the dark.
dance OFF CINARS

Aakash Odedra Company

A breathtaking dance-theatre piece choreographed by Aakash Odedra about individuals trying to find a voice to stand against oppression. Winner of the Freedom of Expression Award 2017 by Amnesty International, #JeSuis features an ensemble of seven...

12 November 2018 at 20:00

dance OFF CINARS

Andrea Peña & Artists

“6.58” presents three disarticulated tableaus that experiment the notion of flesh and mind, mediated by external forces. An exploration of 5 dancers, in conversation with the hegemony of a a machine, opera singer, and a DJ. Dancers: Kevin...

Many dates

dance Official Programming

Cas Public + KOPERGIETERY

Known for its eloquent dance, Cas Public now houses an atypical performer, Cai Glover, who overcame a hearing impairment to become a professional dancer. Hélène Blackburn has taken the unusual step of using his disability as a point of departure...

15 November 2018 at 14:30

dance OFF CINARS

Cas Public + Kopergietery

Known for its eloquent dance, Cas Public now houses an atypical performer, Cai Glover, who overcame a hearing impairment to become a professional dancer. Choreographer Hélène Blackburn has taken the unusual step of using his disability as a point...

Many dates

theatre OFF CINARS

creature/creature

A Casual Reconstruction is an interdisciplinary encounter between two old friends about blood, mothers, and the uncomfortable feelings around being native and/or non-native. Audience members act as avatars for six culturally mixed...

14 November 2018 at 18:45

circus Official Programming

Jamie Adkins

World renowned clown, juggler, and comic acrobat, Jamie Adkins, stumbles onstage, desperately trying to become the man he imagines himself to be. Sometimes endearing with his skillfully awkward juggling, his character always ends up touching the...

14 November 2018 at 14:30

Présentation de projets

Activités
13 November
10:30 - 12:00
Fairmont Le Reine Elizabeth — Duluth
La Présentation de projets permet à des compagnies et/ou des artistes sélectionnés par un jury de partager de l'information, sur un projet en cours, avec les artistes, agents et diffuseurs assistant à la Biennale CINARS. Les participants de cette activité sont à la recherche de partenaires dans le but de développer un nouveau projet, une nouvelle création ou un partenariat artistique et/ou financier.

Projet organisé en collaboration avec DAM (Diversité artistique Montréal) et ELAN (English-Language Arts Network).
Participants
Anand Bhatt Aakash Odedra Company
Aakash Odedra (Royaume-Uni / Inde) et Shenyuan Hu (Chine) sont des danseurs virtuoses dans leur langue maternelle. Ils trouvent un terrain d'entente entre leur héritage et l'expression contemporaine. Ces civilisations anciennes voisines ont échangé la culture pendant des siècles. L'Himalaya crée la frontière naturelle la plus élevée et pourtant les enseignements de Bouddha ont trouvé un chemin à travers.
Alexandre Hamel Le Patin Libre
Le Patin Libre a été fondé par des patineurs artistiques de calibre international voulant s'affranchir des stéréotypes « On Ice ». Inspirés par les volées d'oiseaux, ils travaillent sur un premier projet en grande forme, pour 15 patineurs virtuoses et dédiés à la continuation de cette révolution contemporaine du patinage.

Claire Costa Plexus Polaire / Yngvild Aspeli
La mer nous relie, entre les continents elle dessine des lignes invisibles reliant les différentes terres du monde. Face à elle, puissante et imprévisible, nous sommes tous égaux. Infiniment petits. Moby Dick, c’est l’histoire d'une expédition baleinière, mais c’est aussi celle d’une obsession, et une enquête sur le sens de la vie.
Mélanie Demers MAYDAY
Après Animal Triste (2016), qui s’est penché sur la petite histoire de l’humanité, la nouvelle création de Mélanie Demers se tourne vers le lendemain de notre espèce et tente d’imaginer une microsociété où l’humain se mesure à son destin. MAYDAY y met en scène un univers dystopique où le vain ballet des humains se transforme en une œuvre d’anticipation.


Lawrence Cherney Soundstreams Canada
The Journey est un projet phare. Deux opéras en un seul acte enracinés dans la mythologie autochtone: Pimooteewin, un opéra en langue Cree originaire des Prairies canadiennes; et Gállábártnit, un opéra en langue Sami inspiré par les légendes nordiques du Grand-Nord. Les opéras sont le fruit de collaborations interculturelles entre artistes autochtones et non autochtones, avec la participation de compagnies du Canada, de la Suède et de la Norvège.
Heloise Bourgeois Cirque Entre Nous
Héloïse Bourgeois, après 10 ans de tournée avec « Les 7 doigts », remporte le Festival de Demain en 2012 avec son duo de mât chinois. Aujourd’hui fondatrice du collectif ENTRE NOUS, elle poursuit sa recherche en poussant le langage acrobatique à la frontière de la danse et du théâtre.
Esteban Fourmi AE Dance Company
REBOOT, le deuxième ouvrage d'AE, est une exploration des sensations humaines et de la façon dont elles nous connectent à nous les êtres humains. En regardant la notion de transhumanisme, nous ré-imaginons notre futur et nos cycles de vie. Il est présenté en deux parties interconnectées en tant qu'événements séparés - une performance de soirée complète et une installation de performance participative familiale.
Peggy Baker Peggy Baker Dance Projects
Chorégraphiée par Peggy Baker, figure acclamée de la dansesx canadienne, who we are in the dark offre l’urgence d’une danse contemporaine audacieuse, une charge musicale live, et des éléments visuels modulés par des artistes travaillant les pigments, la projection et la lumière. Jeremy Gara et Sarah Neufeld, membres du groupe rock Arcade Fire, lauréat d’un Grammy et d’un Juno, sont entourés sur scène de sept extraordinaires danseurs, dans une œuvre qui explore et illumine ce qui se joue dans le noir : identités mouvantes, trahisons, secrets et intimité.


danse OFF CINARS

Aakash Odedra Company

Une pièce de danse-théâtre bouleversante, chorégraphiée par Aakash Odedra, qui traite de ceux qui se battent contre l'oppression. Lauréat du Freedom of Expression Award 2017 décerné par Amnistie Internationale, #JeSuis réunit sur scène sept...

12 November 2018 à 20:00

danse OFF CINARS

Andrea Peña & Artists

6.58 présente sous trois tableaux, une exploration rythmique, sensuelle et inhabituelle de l’artifice au cœur de notre société contemporaine. 5 danseurs en conversation avec l’hégémonie des machines, une chanteuse d’opéra et un DJ, sont à la...

Plusieurs dates

danse OFF CINARS

Cas Public + Kopergietery

Cas Public, reconnue pour sa danse éloquente, héberge en son sein un danseur atypique. Cai Glover est malentendant. Ce handicap qu’il a surmonté pour devenir danseur professionnel, la chorégraphe Hélène Blackburn fait le pari de l'utiliser comme...

Plusieurs dates

danse Programmation Officielle

Cas Public + KOPERGIETERY

Cas Public, reconnue pour sa danse éloquente, héberge en son sein un danseur atypique. Cai Glover est malentendant. Ce handicap qu’il a surmonté pour devenir danseur, Hélène Blackburn fait le pari de l'utiliser comme point de départ de sa nouvelle...

15 November 2018 à 14:30

theatre OFF CINARS

creature/creature

A Casual Reconstruction est une rencontre interdisciplinaire entre deux amies qui discutent leurs racines, leurs mères et des sentiments inconfortables d'être ou ne pas être premières nations. Le public sert d'avatars pour six...

14 November 2018 à 18:45

danse OFF CINARS

Bouge de là

Terrain de jeu déjanté à l’univers graphique coloré, À travers mes yeux nous ramène à ce qu’il y a de plus beau chez l’enfant : son inlassable capacité à s’émerveiller. Danseurs : Emmanuelle Martin, Myriam Tremblay, Julie Tymchuk, Émilie...

14 November 2018 à 12:30