Discussion

activities
14 November
10:30 - 12:00
Fairmont Le Reine Elizabeth — Duluth
How cultural spaces could become real citizen spaces?

Can we dream of cultural spaces for everyone and how could we do it? Four performing arts figures from Canada, the United States and Belgium will discuss the future of cultural spaces : inclusion, meaning and collective projects will be honored.
*This conversation will be moderated by Simon Brault, Director and CEO of the Canada Council for the Arts

SIMULTANEOUS TRANSLATION AVAILABLE.
Participants
Simon Brault Conseil des arts du Canada
Simon Brault is Director and CEO of the Canada Council for the Arts. Author of No Culture, No Future, he has been a driving force behind a number of major projects and has held key positions in national organizations, including the National Theatre School of Canada. An initiator of Journées de la culture, he was a founding member and Chair of Culture Montréal, and has been a board member of the International Federation of Arts Councils and Culture Agencies (IFACCA) since 2016. He is a sought-after speaker and, in 2017, represented Canada as a cultural expert at the first G7 on arts and culture.

Simon Brault has received numerous distinctions for his commitment to the social recognition of arts and culture.
Caroline Ohrt Danse Danse
Artistic Codirector and Director of Development, Caroline Ohrt joined the Danse Danse direction team in 2015 after a journey combining visual arts and dance. She’s in charge of developing new partnerships, initiating special projects and participating in the annual programming of performances. During her career, she advised art collectors, worked for Montreal Fine arts Museum and COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD. Ms. Ohrt is also Vice-President of Montreal Dance Award and Danse à la carte. Danse Danse is a presenter with an annual full season of Canadian and international contemporary Dance program presented at Place des arts.
Donna Walker-Kuhne Walker International Communications Group, Inc
Donna Walker-Kuhne is President of Walker International Communications Group, a 30 year old boutique marketing and audience development consulting agency. She provides consulting services to numerous arts organizations throughout the world and has generated over $20 M in earned income. She is also Senior Advisor, Community Engagement, New Jersey Performing Arts Center. She is co-founder of Impact Broadway a multicultural project that engages over 300 students as audience members for Broadway with the goal to empower this community to be economic drivers of new audiences for the Broadway Theater district.
Tom Bonte Beursschouwburg
Tom Bonte is the general and artistic director of art center Beursschouwburg in Brussels since 2011. He previously worked at the Antwerp deSingel arts center (2001-2004) and as a programmer performing arts at art center Vooruit in Gent (2005-2011). He is the president of the board of the Brussels Art Consultation, reuniting more then 100 organisations in the Brussels Art field. Since joining Beursschouwburg, Tom’s focus has been on the institution becoming once again ‘a beating heart’ in the cultural life of Brussels.
Skawennati - Aboriginal Territories in Cyberspace
Skawennati makes art that addresses history, the future, and change. Her new media projects are included in both public and private collections and have been presented in major exhibitions such as “On Desire” at the B3 Biennale of the Moving Image in Frankfurt, Germany; Now? NOW! at Denver’s Biennial of the Americas; and Looking Forward (L’Avenir) at the Montreal Biennale.

Born in Kahnawà:ke Mohawk Territory, Skawennati holds a BFA from Concordia University in Montreal, where she resides. She is Co-Director of Aboriginal Territories in Cyberspace (AbTeC), a research network of artists and academics who investigate and create Indigenous virtual environments. Their Skins workshops in Aboriginal Storytelling and Experimental Digital Media aim to empower youth. In 2015 AbTeC launched IIF, the Initiative for Indigenous Futures.
dance OFF CINARS

Aakash Odedra Company

A breathtaking dance-theatre piece choreographed by Aakash Odedra about individuals trying to find a voice to stand against oppression. Winner of the Freedom of Expression Award 2017 by Amnesty International, #JeSuis features an ensemble of seven...

12 November 2018 at 20:00

dance OFF CINARS

Andrea Peña & Artists

“6.58” presents three disarticulated tableaus that experiment the notion of flesh and mind, mediated by external forces. An exploration of 5 dancers, in conversation with the hegemony of a a machine, opera singer, and a DJ. Dancers: Kevin...

Many dates

dance Official Programming

Cas Public + KOPERGIETERY

Known for its eloquent dance, Cas Public now houses an atypical performer, Cai Glover, who overcame a hearing impairment to become a professional dancer. Hélène Blackburn has taken the unusual step of using his disability as a point of departure...

15 November 2018 at 14:30

dance OFF CINARS

Cas Public + Kopergietery

Known for its eloquent dance, Cas Public now houses an atypical performer, Cai Glover, who overcame a hearing impairment to become a professional dancer. Choreographer Hélène Blackburn has taken the unusual step of using his disability as a point...

Many dates

theatre OFF CINARS

creature/creature

A Casual Reconstruction is an interdisciplinary encounter between two old friends about blood, mothers, and the uncomfortable feelings around being native and/or non-native. Audience members act as avatars for six culturally mixed...

14 November 2018 at 18:45

circus Official Programming

Jamie Adkins

World renowned clown, juggler, and comic acrobat, Jamie Adkins, stumbles onstage, desperately trying to become the man he imagines himself to be. Sometimes endearing with his skillfully awkward juggling, his character always ends up touching the...

14 November 2018 at 14:30

Discussion

Activités
14 November
10:30 - 12:00
Fairmont Le Reine Elizabeth — Duluth
Comment les espaces culturels peuvent-ils devenir de réels espaces citoyens ?

Peut-on rêver des espaces culturels pour tous et comment peut-on le faire? Quatre figures des arts de la scène en provenance du Canada, des États-Unis et de Belgique sont appelées à discuter du futur des espaces culturels : inclusion, sens et projets collectifs seront à l’honneur.
*Cette conversation sera animée par Simon Brault, directeur et chef de la direction du Conseil des arts du Canada.

TRADUCTION SIMULTANÉE DISPONIBLE.
Participants
Simon Brault Conseil des arts du Canada
Simon Brault est directeur et chef de la direction du Conseil des arts du Canada. Auteur du Facteur C : l'avenir passe par la culture, il a mené plusieurs projets d’envergure et occupé des postes clés au sein d’organismes nationaux, dont l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada. Instigateur des Journées de la culture, il a été membre fondateur et président élu de Culture Montréal Depuis 2016, il siège au CA de la Fédération internationale des conseils des arts et des agences culturelles (FICCAC-IFACCA). Conférencier recherché, il participait en 2017 au premier G7 sur les arts et la culture à titre d’expert culturel pour le Canada.

Simon Brault a reçu plusieurs distinctions pour son engagement envers la reconnaissance sociale des arts et de la culture.
Caroline Ohrt Danse Danse
Codirectrice artistique et directrice du développement, Caroline Ohrt se joint à l’équipe de direction de Danse Danse en 2015 après un parcours alliant les arts visuels et la danse. Elle s’investit dans le développement de nouveaux partenariats, initie des projets spéciaux et participe à l’élaboration de la programmation annuelle des spectacles. Au cours de sa carrière, elle a conseillé des collectionneurs d’art, travaillé au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal et à la COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD. Madame Ohrt est Vice-présidente des Prix de la danse de Montréal et de Danse à la Carte. Danse Danse est une diffuseur qui présente annuellement une saison de spectacles canadiens et internationaux en danse contemporaine à la Place des Arts.
Donna Walker-Kuhne Walker International Communications Group, Inc
Donna Walker-Kuhne est présidente de Walker International Communications Group, une agence de conseil en marketing et développement de public depuis 30 ans. Elle offre des services de consultation à de nombreux organismes artistiques à travers le monde et a généré des revenus de plus de 20 millions de dollars. Elle est également conseillère principale de l’engagement communautaire au New Jersey Performing Arts Center. Elle est co-fondatrice d'Impact Broadway, un projet multiculturel qui implique plus de 300 étudiants en tant que membres du public de Broadway dans le but de permettre à cette communauté de devenir des moteurs économiques et de nouveaux publics pour le quartier Broadway.
Tom Bonte Beursschouwburg
Depuis 2011, Tom Bonte est le directeur général et artistique du centre d’art Beursschouwburg à Bruxelles. Il a travaillé auparavant au Antwerp de Singel Arts Center (2001-2004) et en tant que programmateur des arts de la scène au centre d’art Vooruit à Gent (2005-2011). Il est le président du conseil d’administration du Brussels Art Consultation qui réunit plus de 100 organisations du secteur des arts de Bruxelles. Depuis, qu’il a rejoint le Beursschouwburg, Tom se concentre sur la revitalisation de ce lieu emblématique pour qu’il redevienne un cœur battant de la vie culturelle bruxelloise.
Skawennati - Aboriginal Territories in Cyberspace
Les œuvres de l’artiste Skawennati abordent les notions d’histoire, d’avenir et de changement et ont été largement diffusés en Amérique du Nord.

Née à Kahnawake territoire Mohawk, Skawennati est diplômé en beaux arts de l’Université de Concordia à Montréal, où elle vit et travaille. Elle codirige aux cotés de Jason Edward Lewis, Aboriginal Territories in Cyberspace (AbTeC), un réseau de recherche composé d’artistes, d’universitaires et de technologues voué à la création, à l’exploration et à la critique d’environnements virtuels autochtones.
danse OFF CINARS

Aakash Odedra Company

Une pièce de danse-théâtre bouleversante, chorégraphiée par Aakash Odedra, qui traite de ceux qui se battent contre l'oppression. Lauréat du Freedom of Expression Award 2017 décerné par Amnistie Internationale, #JeSuis réunit sur scène sept...

12 November 2018 à 20:00

danse OFF CINARS

Andrea Peña & Artists

6.58 présente sous trois tableaux, une exploration rythmique, sensuelle et inhabituelle de l’artifice au cœur de notre société contemporaine. 5 danseurs en conversation avec l’hégémonie des machines, une chanteuse d’opéra et un DJ, sont à la...

Plusieurs dates

danse OFF CINARS

Cas Public + Kopergietery

Cas Public, reconnue pour sa danse éloquente, héberge en son sein un danseur atypique. Cai Glover est malentendant. Ce handicap qu’il a surmonté pour devenir danseur professionnel, la chorégraphe Hélène Blackburn fait le pari de l'utiliser comme...

Plusieurs dates

danse Programmation Officielle

Cas Public + KOPERGIETERY

Cas Public, reconnue pour sa danse éloquente, héberge en son sein un danseur atypique. Cai Glover est malentendant. Ce handicap qu’il a surmonté pour devenir danseur, Hélène Blackburn fait le pari de l'utiliser comme point de départ de sa nouvelle...

15 November 2018 à 14:30

theatre OFF CINARS

creature/creature

A Casual Reconstruction est une rencontre interdisciplinaire entre deux amies qui discutent leurs racines, leurs mères et des sentiments inconfortables d'être ou ne pas être premières nations. Le public sert d'avatars pour six...

14 November 2018 à 18:45

danse OFF CINARS

Bouge de là

Terrain de jeu déjanté à l’univers graphique coloré, À travers mes yeux nous ramène à ce qu’il y a de plus beau chez l’enfant : son inlassable capacité à s’émerveiller. Danseurs : Emmanuelle Martin, Myriam Tremblay, Julie Tymchuk, Émilie...

14 November 2018 à 12:30