La Messe Basse/Collectif Aalaapi

Canada
theatre Official Programming
Duration 90 min.
Booth 2
11 November 2022 at 16:00 Théâtre Rouge du Conservatoire d'art dramatique de Montréal
Artistic Direction: Collectif Aalaapi/Laurence Dauphinais
Canada (Québec) Crossing the boundaries of age and ethnicity in its collective authorship, AALAAPI enriches our lives with a nuanced understanding of contemporary Inuit experience. Combining the aesthetics of theatre and radio, the project takes us to the North. The focus is on two women living in Nunavik; over a long arc, we watch their lives play out. A radio is the centrepiece in their domestic setting, and through it come the sounds of an audio documentary. We listen along with the women, and eventually the broadcast comes under scrutiny in a process informed by ethical and political concerns. We invite the spectator of Aalaapi to adopt a rare quality of listening. This endeavour is the first step towards a real encounter. Actresses Nancy Saunders, Olivia Ikey Produced by Collectif Aalaapi Original idea Laurence Dauphinais, Marie-Laurence Rancourt Directed by Laurence Dauphinais Radio documentary directed by Magnéto –Marie-Laurence Rancourt, Daniel Capeille Set Design Odile Gamache Lighting Design Chantal Labonté Music Antonin Wyss Sound and Video on tour Fabien Locas Video Guillaume Vallée Assistant Director Charlie Cohen Set Design Assistant Nancy Saunders Translated by Brett Donahue, Nicolas Pirti-Duplessis Animation Camille Monette-Dubeau Tour Manager Sandy Caron Technical Director Romane Bocquet Stage Manager Jasmine Kamruzzaman Production Director of the original version Letícia Tórgo Production and touring La Messe Basse Created in association with Magneto With the support of Nouveau Chapitre Creative residencies Quai 5160, maison de la culture de Verdun, Ateliers de LA SERRE – arts vivants, Conseil des arts de Montréal Members of the collectif Aalaapi Audrey Alasuak, Daniel Capeille, Laurence Dauphinais, Mélodie Duplessis, Caroline Jutras-Boisclair, Samantha Leclerc, Louisa Naluiyuk, Akinisie Novalinga, Marie-Laurence Rancourt, Nancy Saunders, Hannah Tooktoo
Represented by
Laurence Dauphinais La Dauphine Production inc.
music Official Programming

Petros Klampanis

Petros Klampanis muses on life in two cities, two continents, and the irrationalities in between, on his fourth album. Bassist Petros Klampanis, based both in his native Athens, Greece and also New York, has earned acclaim as “a formidable player...

10 November 2022 at 22:00

dance Official Programming

Clara Furey

Canada (Québec) With its celestial bodies launched into orbit, vibrating in a lustful and hypnotic ritual, Dog Rising mirrors the life cycle, the dynamic flow of matter. From primitive impulses to gestures that are at times sexual, at times...

11 November 2022 at 14:00

multidisciplinary arts Official Programming

Action at a Distance

"Graveyards and Gardens" is a collaborative performance installation conceived, created and performed by composer Caroline Shaw and choreographer Vanessa Goodman with lighting design by James Proudfoot and audio design by Eric Chad and Kate De...

10 November 2022 at 18:00

music Official Programming

Sheenah Ko

Canada (Québec) Future is now is a luminous adventure of vaporous pop, sometimes psychedelic, passing through portions closer to ecstatic dance, suffused with a jazz spirit that leaves room for the improvisation of the musicians. The group of...

09 November 2022 at 22:00

music Official Programming

Bon Débarras

Canada (Québec) This show highlights the reference points and core values that Bon Débarras has relied on for its creative process since its beginnings. Identity bearings, geographical markers, linguistic and cultural reference points – these are...

11 November 2022 at 22:00

classical music Official Programming

Soundstreams

It has been said that DEATH, SEX AND ETERNITY preoccupied iconic Québec composer Claude Vivier, murdered in 1983 at the age of 34 years. This is an interdisciplinary program that includes two works performed live with haunting video by Indigenous...

09 November 2022 at 14:00

Aalaapi

La Messe Basse/Collectif Aalaapi

Canada
theatre Programmation Officielle
Durée 105 min.
Stand
11 novembre 2022 à 16:00 Théâtre Rouge du Conservatoire d'art dramatique de Montréal
Direction artistique : Collectif Aalaapi/Laurence Dauphinais
Traversant les frontières de l'âge et de l'ethnicité, le collectif à l'origine de la pièce AALAAPI enrichit nos vies d'une compréhension nuancée de l'expérience inuite contemporaine. Mêlant les esthétiques du théâtre et de la radio, le projet nous transporte vers le Nord. L'accent est mis sur deux femmes vivant au Nunavik; nous regardons leur quotidien se dérouler dans un rythme qui leur est propre. Une radio est la pièce maîtresse de leur environnement domestique, et à travers elle nous parvient un documentaire sonore. Nous écoutons avec ces jeunes femmes qui se font raconter le Nord à travers les sujets du documentaire, et qui ressentiront le besoin d'interagir avec lui. Nous invitons le spectateur d'Aalaapi à adopter une qualité d'écoute rare. Cet effort est le premier pas vers une véritable rencontre. Comédiennes Nancy Saunders, Olivia Ikey Un spectacle du Collectif Aalaapi Idée originale Laurence Dauphinais, Marie-Laurence Rancourt Mise en scène Laurence Dauphinais Réalisation du documentaire sonore Magnéto, Marie-Laurence Rancourt, Daniel Capeille Scénographie Odile Gamache Lumières Chantal Labonté Musique Antonin Wyss Sonorisation et vidéo en tournée Fabien Locas Vidéo Guillaume Vallée Assistance à la mise en scène Charlie Cohen Assistance à la scénographie Nancy Saunders Traduction Brett Donahue, Nicolas Pirti-Duplessis Animation Camille Monette-Dubeau Direction de tournée Sandy Caron Direction technique Romane Bocquet Régie Jasmine Kamruzzaman Direction de production à la création Letícia Tórgo Production et tournée La Messe Basse Collaboration à la création Magnéto Avec le soutien de Nouveau Chapitre Résidences de création Quai 5160, maison de la culture de Verdun + Ateliers de LA SERRE – arts vivants + Conseil des arts de Montréal Membres du Collectif Aalaapi Audrey Alasuak, Daniel Capeille, Laurence Dauphinais, Mélodie Duplessis, Caroline Jutras-Boisclair, Samantha Leclerc, Louisa Naluiyuk, Akinisie Novalinga, Marie-Laurence Rancourt, Nancy Saunders, Hannah Tooktoo
Représenté par
Laurence Dauphinais La Dauphine Production inc.
danse OFF CINARS

COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD

Une œuvre chorégraphique entièrement développée à partir des souffles et des voix des danseurs et des danseuses. Après les Trous du ciel, première œuvre de groupe de Marie Chouinard créée en 1991, et 30 ans plus tard, la chorégraphe renoue avec...

Plusieurs dates

danse Programmation Officielle

HUMANHOOD Dance Company

Infinite, la première méditation de danse-théâtre de HUMANHOOD, guide le public dans un voyage mystique où le monde extérieur de la danse magique sur scène fusionnera avec votre conscience intérieure. La prémisse est le mouvement et la conscience,...

09 novembre 2022 à 18:00

danse OFF CINARS

Andrea Peña & Artists

La chorégraphe Andrea Peña réunit dans une grande physicalité sept interprètes et une chanteuse soprano pour interroger habilement les codes qui nous gouvernent. François Richard - Danseur Erin O'Loughlin - Danseuse Jean-Benoit...

Plusieurs dates

theatre OFF CINARS

DynamO Théâtre

De retour après une absence prolongée, un homme est confronté à un héritage familial dans lequel il ne se reconnaît pas. On ne sait pas qui il est ni d’où il vient. Il doit renouer avec son identité. Une vieille bicyclette le pousse à s’engager...

Plusieurs dates

theatre Programmation Officielle

La Messe Basse/Collectif Aalaapi

Traversant les frontières de l'âge et de l'ethnicité, le collectif à l'origine de la pièce AALAAPI enrichit nos vies d'une compréhension nuancée de l'expérience inuite contemporaine. Mêlant les esthétiques du théâtre et de la radio, le projet nous...

11 novembre 2022 à 16:00

cirque Programmation Officielle

PRODUCTIONS KALABANTÉ

Un spectacle haut en couleurs autant par son décor que ses costumes et sa mise en scène qui saura faire vibrer toute la salle. Il symbolise la force, l’agilité et la joie de vivre que l’on retrouve chez la jeunesse africaine. Vous retrouverez des...

10 novembre 2022 à 16:00